Managing Locations
View, add, edit, and delete the locations that define where course sessions take place.
Locations define the geographic sites of your course sessions. Use this article to view, add, edit, and delete locations.
Before you begin
- Global administrators can add, delete, and edit locations for all organizations. Administrators with restricted access can only add, delete, and edit locations within the organization to which they are restricted.
- When an organization is added, an Online location is created by default.
View your locations
The locations list shows the currently defined training outlets.
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click Manage Locations. The locations are alphabetically listed by their Org ID.
- Click the Name column heading to alphabetically re-sort the table by the location name.
- Use the Search box to filter the list of locations.
Search fields
- Org ID – Org ID with which an organization was added.
- Location ID – Location ID with which the location was added.
- Name – Enter any combination of letters and numbers to search for locations that contain that combination in the name.
Add a location
Adding a location enables you to define a new training outlet. This can be a physical location or "Online", for instance. When adding locations, you can specify a description that can be used as a token in notifications and email messages. See Managing organization notifications for details about using tokens in notifications.
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click Manage Locations.
- On the Manage Locations window, click Add Location or right-click on the table and select Add Location.
- On the Add Location dialog box, select the appropriate organization and specify the name and the short description of the new location.
- Click Save. The new location is added to the location list.
View and edit location details
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click Manage Locations. Manage Locations opens.
- Use the Search box to filter the list (see the search fields above).
- Double-click the location you want to edit or select the location and click View/Edit Details. Alternatively, select the location, right-click on the table, and select View/Edit Details. The Location Details dialog box opens.
- On the Location Details window, specify the new description and name.
- Click Save to save your changes.
- Click Close when you are done making changes. The description of the location is updated in the location list.
Delete a location
Note: Any location can be deleted; however, at least one location must remain defined. When you delete a location, the existing sessions will remain available with no specified location.
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click Manage Locations.
- Use the Search box to filter the list (see the search fields above).
- Double-click the location you want to delete or select the location and click Delete. Alternatively, select the location, right-click on the table, and select Delete. The location is removed from the location list.