Managing logged-in Users
View, log out, message, and restrict logged-in CourseMill users as a global administrator.
Global administrators can view the list of users that are currently logged in. Use the list to log users off the system, send messages, and temporarily restrict access to the system.
Before you begin
- You must be a global administrator to use View Logged-In Users.
Use the list to force users off, send messages, and restrict access.
To view the list of logged-in users, open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click View Logged-In Users.
Each row in the table represents a user ID that is currently signed on. If the user ID is restricted to a specific organization, the organization is listed in the Org ID column. Otherwise, the Org ID column is blank. Click a column heading to re-sort the table. Use the Search box to limit the list to a specific Org ID and locate specific user IDs.
Log out a user
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click View Logged-In Users. The View Logged-In Users window opens.
- Click the user ID that you want to log out. To select more than one user ID, hold Ctrl and click the other user IDs. To select all the user IDs in the current list, click All.
- Click Log Out.
The user ID is logged out.
Send a message to a user
You can send messages to the user IDs that are currently signed on.
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click View Logged-In Users. The View Logged-In Users window opens.
- Click the user ID to which you want to send a message. To select more than one user ID, hold Ctrl and click the other user IDs. To select all the user IDs in the current list, click All.
- Click Send Message. The Send Message window opens.
- Type the message in the Message box and click Send Message.
The message is sent.
Restrict user access
You can restrict users from logging in. This is handy when updates require all users to be signed off. You can display a message to users to notify them accordingly.
- Open the Admin Tasks side-tab and click View Logged-In Users. The View Logged-In Users window opens.
- Click the user ID to which you want to restrict access. To select more than one user ID, hold Ctrl and click the other user IDs. To select all the user IDs in the current list, click All.
- Click Restrict Access. The Restrict Access window opens.
- Enable the Restrict Users From Being Able To Login check box.
- Edit the message in the Message box as needed and click Save.
The message is sent and the user is restricted from logging in.