Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Merging and archiving Users

Merge duplicate student accounts or move a student's records to the archive database.

Global administrators can merge and archive users. These two functions are performed by right-clicking a particular student user from the Manage Users page. The functions are not accessible from the Manage Users menu across the top of the page.

Merge student details

The Merge Student function retains the user selected and merges another user account into this user account. When the process is completed, the merged user account no longer exists.

Note: If the merge process encounters identical curriculum or course IDs, the process will stop. You will need to print off a transcript for each user and determine which of the curriculums or courses are to be retained in the user permanent record. Delete the curriculums/courses that are not to be retained and run the merge again.

Archive student details

The Archive Student function moves all records from the live database to a separate archival database. The data is deleted from the live database.

From the archive database, a transcript of the user's activities at the time of the archive may be generated. To access these transcripts, navigate to the left sidebar menu and select Transcripts under Reports. In the Report Options pop-up window, check the Include Archived Students check box.

Note: A quarterly, bi-annual, or annual schedule process should be devised to report on and clean the CourseMill database using these two functions. Also, you can generate the List of Archived Students report. For details, see Generating, downloading, and graphing reports.

Related articles