Administrator and user roles
Privileges of global, single-organization, and SubOrg administrators, plus student, instructor, and reporter roles.
CourseMill defines a number of roles to provide the degrees of authority needed to perform certain functions. This article describes the administrator roles and the other user roles, and the privileges of each.
Administrator IDs
Administrators with global administrator privileges manage administrator IDs for the organization. Global administrators can add, delete, modify, and assign administrator IDs. The main administrator cannot be deleted. For the tasks, see Managing administrator IDs and Assigning administrators to SubOrgs.
Administrator roles
A number of administrative roles are defined to provide degrees of authority that are needed to perform certain administrative functions.
- Global administrator – A global administrator manages all organizations in the site. They can do all the tasks a single-organization administrator can do, as well as manage the properties for the entire site.
- Single-organization (restricted) administrator – Single-organization administrators manage the creation and management of instructors, reporters, and users, the creation and management of curriculums or courses, and the development of custom reports. The global administrator selects the single organization to which this administrator is restricted.
- Administrator assigned by SubOrg – Administrators that are assigned to a single particular organization can also be further restricted to one or many SubOrgs. This administrator can be restricted to only certain parts of the organization. Use the SubOrg settings to make rules to limit the administrator's access.
User roles
CourseMill distinguishes between the following user privileges based on the user's role.
- Student – This is the default role when a new profile is created. This user can launch course content, complete courses, and view grades. (A student can also be assigned Instructor or Reporter privileges.)
- Instructor – Users defined as Instructors can register students, add course content, and generate gradebooks only for courses/sessions for which they have been assigned as an instructor. (Inherently, Instructors are always Students as well.)
- Reporter – Users defined as Reporters can generate reports and specify when progress emails are sent.
Additional user permissions can be specified to further restrict tasks for individual users. For example, permissions can be set to allow an individual instructor to add curriculums but not delete them. Likewise, permissions can be set to allow an individual reporter to add curriculums but not delete them.
If an instructor is given additional user permissions for registering students, they will be able to see all courses in the organization.
The user interface for an instructor provides a Switch Role button next to your login to navigate between the student interface and instructor interface screens. When the instructor logs in, the default is to land on the instructor interface. They can click over to the student interface at any time.
The user interface for a reporter also provides a Switch Role button next to your login to navigate between the student interface and reporter interface screens. If the reporter, as a student, has courses to take, the student interface is the default interface when the reporter logs in. Otherwise, the reporter interface is the default interface.
Note: If you are specifying additional user permissions for a user that has both the Instructor and Reporter role, it is highly recommended instead to separate these roles into two different accounts in order to make sure these additional user permissions work as expected.
Related articles